New Member Area New to Lexus Forum? Stop in tell us about you.

self starting

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2007, 11:45 PM
Default self starting

my lx 470 tried to start itself over and over
then went crazy ; alarm lights horn
but my key was nowhere near it
had to disconnect battery to turn it off
what the ???

Old 04-28-2007, 05:08 AM
Default RE: self starting

hello!
i'm a newbie here. hoping to have a great stay.

Old 04-30-2007, 12:53 PM

marianne lx470,

What year is your LS ..........did you buy it new or used??? Have there been any Mod's done to it??? Let's start there and see where that takes us...........

Old 05-02-2007, 04:07 PM

Hi,
thanks for your response -
my car is a '99 engine - bought in 2000 - no mod's done.
It's presently diagnosed by Lexus as having blocked sunroof drainage channels, which leaked water down through the body of the car, and over the electrical nerve centre - front passenger side, causing the car to go berserk.
I suspect that there is an element of bad design here - surely any possible water overflow should be directed away from electrical components.
-and an important safety issue - when luxury cars of any age choose to try start themseves.
I have been advised that cleaning out the sunroof drainage channels with a compressed air blower (with a special nozzle) regulary would have prevented this. Mechanics that I have spoken with would not normally think to do this themselves - also we don't happen to have a compressed air blower at home, does anyone?
ha! I think not.
I have referred to the LX470 manual - which merely advises me not to jam any part of my body into the 'moonroof', this has not been a problem so far.
In the meantime I must say, the local Lexus service centre has been very helpful, and straightforward - and I am looking forward to customer relations feedback any time soon.
regards
marianne

Old 05-03-2007, 02:22 AM