Help in decision buying a 04 LS430

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2007, 12:26 PM
Default Help in decision buying a 04 LS430

Hello all, this is my first post to this form![/align][/align]I have a question:[/align]
I have a 98 GS400 with 133,xxx miles on it. I am looking to buy a 04-05 LS to replace this car. I want a Black on Black LS with Modern Lux or Custum Lux package (need NAV, Mark Lev., vented seats). I looked at getting a Ulta Lux but am scared by the air suspension - I like the cooler in the back as I am a Realtor and this would be nice for my clients!

So here is my question (also if you have input on the Ultra Lux feel free to give it). I am seeing 04 LS with about 32,000-38,000 miles for sale at around $32,000-$34,000. Then I see the same cars with 55,000-70,000 miles for sale at around $27,000-28,000. So what would be your recommendation spend $6,000 more for a car with fewer miles and some factory warranty or save the money and get the car with more miles?

The main issue that I have seen on this board is the Ulta Lux air suspension/struts. Any other big ticket items? My 98 GS400 has two bad door actuators that are about $600 per lock to have repaired!!!

Thanks to all!

PS - I bought my GS400 with about 80,000 miles and the only thing that I have had to do to it is timing belt and water pump (which I waited until about 120,000 miles to do). That is until now with the door actuators.

Mike[/align]

Old 10-17-2007, 05:08 PM
Default RE: Help in decision buying a 04 LS430

I would check with your local dealer and purchase a Certified Pre-owned Ls. It Basically buys you piece of mind knowing that the vehicle that you are driving has a certified history. All vehicles that are "traded in" or are lease returns do not qualify for CPO status. The car pretty much has to be cherry.You have access to all previous service records and a warranty up to 100,000 miles or 3 years from your purchase date.

Here's a cut & paste from the Lexus Website.